Santiago 2023 closes with eigth Gold Medals and two Shortboard Olympic spots awarded

Sanoa Dempfle-Olin from Canada and Lucca Mesinas from Peru have received tickets to Paris 2024

The Santiago 2023 Surfing competition has closed with exciting athletic demonstrations by surfers from the Americas.

Five long days in the powerful waves of Punta de Lobos, in Pichilemu, reached their peak today, Monday, October 30, with the delivery of the 24 medals (gold, silver and bronze) in contention.

24 athletes entered the Pan American Games history books, eight of them with their gold medals.

The first Gold of the day went to Zane Schweitzer in Men’s SUP Surf, who faced and beat Silver Medalist Luiz Dinz from Brazil with 16.00 points, who added 10.23 points.

Colombia received Gold thanks to Isabella Gómez, in the Women’s SUP Surf category. Gómez faced Silver Medalist Aline Adisaka of Brazil, in an exciting final that was led almost entirely by the Brazilian.

But finally, with just a few seconds left before the final horn, Gómez rode a wave that catapulted her to Gold, adding a total of 7.93 points against the Brazilian’s 7.04 points.

Gold in Men’s Longboard was won for the second consecutive PanamSports Pan American Games by Peruvian Benoit “Piccolo” Clemente.

In the grand final, the Peruvian faced the local Pichilemu athlete and Silver Medalist Rafaél Cortéz, who put up an intense fight to leave the Gold at home, but was unable to catch up with the Peruvian who closed the series with a total of 12.16 points against 10.37 Cortez.

The Women’s Longboard final had one of the most striking moments of the day, after the Peruvian athlete and Gold Medalist María Fernanda Reyes made an error for which she was sanctioned with a Priority interference, losing the entirety of her second best punctuated wave.

Even so, the Peruvian was able to find and ride with grace and style a great wave for which she received 7.50 points, her only score and enough to surpass the Brazilian despite her great efforts against the powerful conditions of Punta de Lobos. .

Surfing closed with the clashes for the Men’s and Women’s Shortboard Gold. Lucca Mesinas of Peru was the winner of the Men’s Gold, beating Silver Medalist Francisco Bellorín of Venezuela 13.16 to 9.10 points. This result gave Peruvian Messinas qualification for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

In Women’s Shortboard Tatiana Weston-Webb from Brazil was the winner of the Pan American Gold by beating Sanoa Dempfle-Olin from Canada 12.33 points to 10.13 points. Weston-Webb is already qualified for Paris 2024 thanks to her excellent position in the World Surfing League standings, so the Olympic pass was awarded to the Canadian Dempfle-Olin.

The day ended with the exciting men’s and women’s SUP races. The conditions forced the event directors to reduce the competition area, so the circuit consisted of fast and exciting sections and other challenging ones against the waves and currents of Punta de Lobos.

Connor Baxter and Candice Appleby, both from the United States, were the Gold winners in this category. Baxter closed the competition with a time of 12:49.9 minutes and Appleby with 15:24.9 minutes.

With these results we reach the nostalgic end of Surfing in Santiago 2023. The Pan American Surf Association is deeply grateful to PanAm Sports and the local organizers of Pichilemu for making this historic event possible.

Final results:

SUP Surf Men
Gold Medal: Zane Schweitzer (USA)
Silver Medal: Luiz Diniz (BRA)
Bronze Medal: Finn Spencer (CAN)

SUP Surf Women
Gold Medal: Isabella Gómez (COL)
Silver Medal: Aline Adisaka (BRA)
Bronze Medal: Vania Torres (PER)

Longboard Men
Gold Medal: Benoit “Piccolo” Clemente (PER)
Silver Medal: Rafaél Cortéz (CHI)
Bronze Medal: Carlos Bahia (BRA)

Longboard Women
Gold Medal: María Fernanda Reyes (PER)
Silver Medal: Chloe Calmon (BRA)
Bronze Medal: Lía Reyes (CRC)

Shortboard Men
Gold Medal: Lucca Mesinas (PER)
Silver Medal: Francisco Bellorín (VEN)
Bronze Medal: Miguel Tudela (PER)

Shortboard Women
Gold Medal: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)
Silver Medal: Sanoa Dempfle-Olin (CAN)
Bronze Medal: Leilani McGonagle (CRC)

Men’s SUP Race
Gold Medal: Connor Baxter (USA)
Silver Medal: Itzel Delgado (PER)
Bronze Medal: Santino Basaldella (ARG)

Women’s SUP Race
Gold Medal: Candice Appleby (USA)
Silver Medal: Jennifer Kalmbach (CRC)
Bronze Medal: Mariecarmen Rivera (PUR)

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial